These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:11 pm Advanced search

Question about HTML5's <video> / <audio>

Here you can discuss things related to HTML and the Web in general that do not fit in to other categories.

Question about HTML5's <video> / <audio>

Postby kepardue » Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:46 pm

I'm not entirely sure that this is the appropriate place to ask this questions since it is more generally related to browsers, but....

As a web developer, I'm concerned about how vague the <video> <audio> spec is on codecs. It seems as though we're approaching a polarized world where the biggest alternative browser, Firefox, is pushing Theora where everyone else is pushing H.264 (as indicated by Chrome and Safari). My company has a significant number of videos that I'd like to offer, but not so much with the wait-and-see and apparently political/philosophical approach that Mozilla is taking with the lower-quality Theora.

Mozilla has stated that they will not natively support H.264 since it is proprietary and not patent free, and yet Google Chrome is offering H.264 support out of the box for their own free browser. How can Chrome do this without incurring licensing fees for an H.264 decoder? Will they just subsidize the cost come 2011?

More importantly, is there any kind of licensing loophole that would eventually also allow Mozilla to support H.264 out of the box, without having to depend on platform frameworks? It sure would be nice if sometime between now and 2011 the patent holders would decide to allow software makers to implement the H.264 decoder only without licensing cost.
kepardue
<h6>

Postby JAB Creations » Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:24 pm

Mozilla is not entirely technically "freeware" in the purest sense...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Naming_con ... nd_Mozilla