These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:11 pm Advanced search

HTML5 - how 'Flash' can it get?

Here you can discuss things related to HTML and the Web in general that do not fit in to other categories.

HTML5 - how 'Flash' can it get?

Postby Long Con » Fri Jun 11, 2010 5:01 pm

Hi, I'm a Flash Developer, and my boss wants me to learn HTML5 and see if it is viable to replace Flash in our various applications. I don't really know anything yet about HTML5 and how it works... can it do this? (Click on PREVIEW to see the whole thing please)

Is it feasible to say I can reproduce that in HTML5?
Long Con
<h5>

Postby JAB Creations » Fri Jun 11, 2010 5:49 pm

Just being honest but that Flash animation initially makes the page feel "empty".

Before you do anything always consider if it's necessary and what the benefits and drawbacks are especially in the context of the methods of implementation.

That Flash file is 122KB! Really?! Saving the image alone as an index colored GIF I knocked the size down to 9KB and you could animate the lighting effect in under 20KB most likely. That means less waiting for content to download, reduced costs of bandwidth (correlating to traffic/hosting), and you're not at the mercy of a proprietary format.

I personally only use Flash to stream audio and if I did video video. Beyond that XHTML, CSS, and JavaScript allow me to do everything else.

The only thing I can recommend using Flash for at this point is multimedia especially since Hollywood's grandmother-suing knuckleheads are hell bent on forcing H.264 down everyone's throats so they can send your small business a bill for using a video codec starting in 2016.