These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:12 pm Advanced search

Learning html

If you are stuck or have questions regarding HTML or other Web technologies, ask your questions here. No question too dumb!

Learning html

Postby lmth » Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:51 pm

Looking for some advise on where to start learning html. I'm a print designer jumping into the web world. It seems that html 4 is the foundation where to build html5? Or better to start right on html5 and learn as I go? Thanks for any guidance.
lmth
<h6>

Re: Learning html

Postby adtykfhyipoh » Sun Oct 09, 2011 10:54 pm

I would absolutely recomend nothing other than
[url]w3schools.com[/url]

I learned all my web design mastery from the website in question.

-[random letters]
adtykfhyipoh
<h6>

Postby zcorpan » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:17 am

I strongly recommend against w3schools.

http://w3fools.com/
zcorpan
<article>

Postby JAB Creations » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:50 am

I agree with Z. At best that site might be an occasional reference point by experienced coders who know what not to use though copying the code from there is something I wouldn't recommend regardless of your experience.

I'd recommend learning XHTML 1.1 served as application/xhtml+xml (create documents with .xhtml extensions and check Firefox --> View Page Info or Opera --> F4 --> Info for media type). The page will break and you'll immediately know what went wrong without having to constantly/manually validate your code (except for duplicate ID's). XHTML 1.1 is compatible with HTML4 for the most part. You can upload HTML4 / XHTML files here: http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_upload
JAB Creations
<aside>

Postby zcorpan » Sun Oct 23, 2011 11:48 am

JAB Creations wrote:I'd recommend learning XHTML 1.1 served as application/xhtml+xml

I would recommend against that, too. :)
zcorpan
<article>

Postby JAB Creations » Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:23 pm