These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:04 pm Advanced search

Wrong Place, Right time - encryption

If you are stuck or have questions regarding HTML or other Web technologies, ask your questions here. No question too dumb!

Wrong Place, Right time - encryption

Postby RSexton » Sat May 09, 2015 10:35 am

My apologies should this waste anyone's time.
I am not a programmer, but have very basic programming background dating back to the Commodore 64. Time has evolved me into a Network Administration role that also includes some network engineering. I'd like to say I have more work than I can handle but that is not the current case and is another topic.

The problem is that I have been exposed to Ransomware several times now. Not on my own machine but on other people's and on networks I am responsible for. The infection seems to be called RansomWall where the first time it was version 2 and this last and most recent is version 3. Anyone following this topic knows that each version is more powerful.

From what I have read (all online sources) this infection uses the built in Windows tools to actually perform the encryption of user data / network (mapped drives) data.