These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:03 pm Advanced search

Introductions

Here you can discuss stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere; anything you want really.

Introductions

Postby Cerbera » Sat Mar 03, 2007 4:47 am

Who are you?

I'm Ben Millard (aka Cerbera). My day job is making templates in HTML (sometimes xHTML) and CSS from design concept pictures made by trendy people. Clever people (i.e. not me) turn these templates into dynamic websites.

I like HTML. I occasionally get confused about what the best way to mark something up would be. Discussing ways to make HTML's semantics better suit everyday uses is what brought me to this forum.

Now it's your turn. 8)
Cerbera
<h4>

Postby TrevorBramble » Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:44 pm

Excellent thread idea for this nascent forum.

My name is ...not exceptionally well-hidden. =^)

I spend the majority of my time working with server-side scripting languages (mostly PHP these days, and Ruby/Rails), but I have a very strong interest and commitment to the markup side of things as well.

I'm following the WHATWG activities for a couple of rather concise reasons:

1. I don't want to be blindsided by the differences in HTML5 when it comes time to migrate.
2. Watching the careful analysis and re-implementation of HTML helps deepen my understanding of it, and regardless of whether I move to 5 (or when) it can help me to make better use of current standards.

More nebulously, I find it interesting to follow this process, and keeping informed helps me to be a knowledgeable advocate of standards-based development.
TrevorBramble
<h6>

Postby zcorpan » Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:48 pm

I'm Simon Pieters. Born in Sweden but lived in the Netherlands for five years, then moved back to Sweden. I work for Opera Software. I also spend some time doing front-end web development and following the HTML5 effort, and lurking around in some forums and mailing lists.