These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:03 pm Advanced search

hmm. Hello whatwg forums.

Post any ideas for improving the WHATWG community website and forums.

hmm. Hello whatwg forums.

Postby Xdega » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:39 pm

Hi.
My name is Liam.
Just signed up, pleased to hopefully share my ideas in the WHATWG effort. One thing I would really like to state right off the bat though. These default phpbb forums are really un-flattering and don't offer much in the way of aesthetic pleasure.

Just a question, are there any plans to make they look a little nicer? I would be more than happy to assist in any way I can. Albeit I am no expert. A mere Comp Sci major (starting this fall), But I do have an interest in graphic arts to a certain degree.

Something inspiring though is documents like: http://developers.whatwg.org/
They way it shows really nice layout, and rich features. It's clean and most importantly it feels custom and un-canned. If you catch my drift ;)

Seems miles apart in terms of layout etc. Maybe show off some of the rich new HTML features?

Anyways, glad to be here.
Xdega
<h2>

Postby Xdega » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:42 pm

Also, would be nice to enable "Edit own posts". I often make many typos I need to correct when I am in a hurry to get an idea posted. Just a suggestion, however if there is a reasoning for it, so be it.
Xdega
<h2>

Postby zcorpan » Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:31 am

Welcome! Hixie is going to give me full access to the forum software soonish, at which point we can figure something out (maybe the first course of action will be to switch forum software?). I'm more than happy to let people improve the forums.

The 'edit posts' feature, useful as it is, has unfortunately been abused by spammers so was disabled.
zcorpan
<article>

Postby JAB Creations » Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:33 am