These forums are currently read-only due to receiving more spam than actual discussion. Sorry.

It is currently Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:15 pm Advanced search

One file frameset

Do you think the HTML spec should do something differently? You can discuss spec feedback here, but you should send it to the WHATWG mailing list or file a bug in the W3C bugzilla for it to be considered.

One file frameset

Postby Robert » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:10 pm

My English is bad. I am sorry.
HTML 5 draft is excellent. This changes are accurately want.

I'd like to ask if you are thinking about this idea?

Idea: "One file frameset"
Example:

Code: Select all
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>A one file frameset document</TITLE>
</HEAD>
  <FRAMESET cols="200,*">
    <FRAME><BODY>Menu Menu Menu Menu Menu </BODY></FRAME>
    <FRAME><BODY>
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
    </BODY></FRAME>
  </FRAMESET>
</HTML>


Rob
Robert
<h6>
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:45 pm

Postby anne » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:45 pm

Can't you do this with CSS already? (At least, I'm assuming you after the presentational effect here.)
User avatar
anne
<h4>
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:17 pm
Location: Utrecht, NL

Postby Robert » Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:08 pm

anne wrote:Can't you do this with CSS already? (At least, I'm assuming you after the presentational effect here.)


Yes fixed split can make with CSS, but spliter moving by user - only with javascript.
Robert
<h6>
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:45 pm

Postby zcorpan » Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:31 pm

Robert wrote:Yes fixed split can make with CSS, but spliter moving by user - only with javascript.
Splinter moving by user is presentational/behavioral or whatever; doesn't have anything to do with semantics or structure and doesn't belong in HTML.

This should be solved with CSS or perhaps XBL.
zcorpan
<article>
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby billyswong » Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:14 am

Sounds interesting. This idea have more uses than presentations.

Example:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<head>
    <title>Document with content specified in frameset</title>
</head>
<frameset cols="200,*">
    <frame src="menu.html">
    <frame>
<body>
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
</body>
    </frame>
</frameset>

With this, things that previously require php or asp can be done easier
billyswong
<h6>
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:05 am
Location: Hong Kong, China

Postby zcorpan » Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:25 am

billyswong wrote:Sounds interesting. This idea have more uses than presentations.

Example:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<head>
    <title>Document with content specified in frameset</title>
</head>
<frameset cols="200,*">
    <frame src="menu.html">
    <frame>
<body>
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
</body>
    </frame>
</frameset>
How is this different from:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<head>
    <title>Document with content specified in frameset</title>
</head>
<body>
    <iframe src="menu.html"></iframe>
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
    Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
</body>
...?
billyswong wrote:With this, things that previously require php or asp can be done easier
I would recommend using server side include for the menu anyway, as it aids usability and it's more search engine "friendly". It's also easier to style. And really, SSI isn't any harder than using an iframe.
zcorpan
<article>
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: One file frameset

Postby jeffcutsinger » Mon Mar 12, 2007 5:09 pm

See http://jeff.cutsinger.org/demo/frames/ and http://www.456bereastreet.com/lab/cssframes/ for ways to do this without being a horrible person.
jeffcutsinger
<h6>
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 3:33 pm

Postby Robert » Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:48 pm

zcorpan wrote:Splinter moving by user is presentational/behavioral or whatever; doesn't have anything to do with semantics or structure and doesn't belong in HTML.


Semantics information for FRAMES:
Frames split page on "marcoareas". This is very good for devices with small display (mobile phones ...). This device can reflect "marcoareas" for representation frames sigly (no with reference in frameset).

This relly use now for FRMES with src attribute.
Robert
<h6>
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:45 pm

Re: One file frameset

Postby Robert » Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:03 pm

jeffcutsinger wrote:See http://jeff.cutsinger.org/demo/frames/ and http://www.456bereastreet.com/lab/cssframes/ for ways to do this without being a horrible person.


Thank you, i known this principle
Robert
<h6>
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:45 pm

Postby billyswong » Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:49 am

zcorpan wrote:I would recommend using server side include for the menu anyway, as it aids usability and it's more search engine "friendly". It's also easier to style. And really, SSI isn't any harder than using an iframe.
SSI, similiar to PHP, relies on the web server, something the web author may not be able to control.(Think those creepy web hosting service)
billyswong
<h6>
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:05 am
Location: Hong Kong, China

Resize content

Postby wgabrie » Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:33 am

Robert wants the resizable border of frames. Here is an example to resize content done with Javascript and a div tag <http://webfx.eae.net/dhtml/genresize/genresize.html> and <http://cross-browser.com/x/examples/xfenster.php>.

What if we could resize content with a predefined class name? :idea:
wgabrie
<h4>
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:55 pm

Re: Resize content

Postby zcorpan » Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:00 am

wgabrie wrote:What if we could resize content with a predefined class name? :idea:
Why would you want it in the markup at all?
zcorpan
<article>
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Resize content

Postby Robert » Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:27 am

wgabrie wrote:Robert wants the resizable border of frames. Here is an example to resize content done with Javascript and a div tag <http://webfx.eae.net/dhtml/genresize/genresize.html> and <http://cross-browser.com/x/examples/xfenster.php>.

What if we could resize content with a predefined class name? :idea:


Yes it is good example. I use something similar to http://www.zapatec.com/website/main/products/paneset/demo.jsp#basic.html

But all is JS dependent .
Robert
<h6>
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:45 pm

Postby Joop » Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:31 pm

[quote="zcorpan"]How is this different from:[code]<!DOCTYPE html>
<head>
<title>Document with content specified in frameset</title>
</head>
<body>
<iframe src="menu.html"></iframe>
Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content Content
</body>[/code]...?[/quote]

What's your solution for this?
<HEAD>
<title>Document with multiple frames</title>
</HEAD>
<FRAMESET border="0" framespacing="0" frameborder="0" COLS="11%,*,11%">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./leftmenu.htm">
<FRAMESET border="0" framespacing="0" frameborder="0" ROWS="12,145,*,30,35">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./index0.htm">
<FRAMESET border="0" framespacing="0" frameborder="0" COLS="*,800,*">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./spacer.htm">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./index1.htm">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./spacer.htm">
</FRAMESET>
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./index2.htm" NAME="mainframe">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./index3.htm">
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./index4.htm">
</FRAMESET>
<FRAME FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0" SRC="./rightmenu.htm">
<NOFRAMES>
<BODY>
<P>
Om deze pagina te kunnen bekijken, moet je over een browser beschikken die frames
ondersteunt, bijvoorbeeld Mozilla, Firefox of Microsoft Internet Explorer. (Left over for you to translate..;))
</P>
</BODY>
</NOFRAMES>
</FRAMESET>
</HTML>

I know that "FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0"" is not confirm specs HTML 4.x, but this is the only solution to get frames without a frame, ie when set border to 0 you still get an ugly white border which doesn't fill up with the background color as it should be. This is on one side a bug in the specs and on the other side a much wanted extension. Only this part doesn't come through W3C, the rest of my site (still not public due to get all legal) is validated to be correct html. The most surprising part is that up to now every browser just do what I wanted it to do, even its not in the specs, so much for validating...
Joop
<h6>
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:06 pm
Location: Holland, The Netherlands

Postby Joop » Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:35 pm

[quote="Joop"]I know that "FRAMEBORDER="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0"" [/quote]
Oeps, got the wrong one, it has to be "border="0" framespacing="0" frameborder="0"" in FRAMESET. For some reason unknown to me I can't edit my replies and for some reason the "[quote]" "[/quote]" don't work which is strange because I've no problems on all other fora with same engine. Apologies for the inconvenience.
Joop
<h6>
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:06 pm
Location: Holland, The Netherlands

Next

Return to Feedback on the Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests